Pastoral Council

Saint Mary Cathedral Pastoral Council

In order to serve the needs of the people of God in the Diocese of Austin and to be responsible stewards of the gifts given to the diocese, the Diocese of Austin issues the following policy:

A Pastoral Council is to be established and is to be operative in every parish and mission in the Diocese of Austin.

The Pastoral Council is to be a representative body of the faithful whose focus is on the whole community – its beliefs, its hopes, its joys, its needs, its sorrows, its concerns, its gifts, and its pursuit of the mission of the Church.

Saint Mary Cathedral is blessed to have parishioners who believe in the mission, vision, and philosophy of the Cathedral.    The primary goal of the Pastoral Council is to assist the Rector, Very Reverend Albert Laforet, Jr. and the Cathedral clergy meet the varied needs of the Cathedral parish.

Pastoral Council Members
Bob Baker
Rosy Jalifi
Carolyn King
Stephanie Lochet
Lauren Miller
Lee Smith
Trey Trainor
Steve Valerga, Sr.

Ex-Officio Members
Very Reverend Albert Laforet, Jr., Rector
Rev. Eugene Nyong, Parochial Vicar
Rev. David Trahan II, Parochial Vicar
Jaeson Drummond, Director of Catholic Faith Formation
Greg Vidal, Business Administrator
Robert LeGros, Principal of Cathedral School of Saint Mary